About BCE

Butterfly Conservation Europe is a partnership organisation focused on halting and reversing the decline of butterflies, moths and their habitats throughout Europe.


BCE Board

Members of BCE Board April 2024

  • Nigel Bourn (chairman)
  • Chris van Swaay (secretary)
  • Anu Tiitsar (treasurer)
  • Lars Petterson
  • Simona Bonelli
  • Evrim Karacetin
  • Constanti Stefanescu


Advisory Group

  • Sam Ellis
  • Martin Wiemers
  • Josef Settele
  • Irma Wynhoff
  • Dirk Maes
  • Mike Prentice
  • Rudi Verovnik
  • Martina Sasic
  • Miguel Munguira
  • Martin Warren (Head of Development)
  • Sue Collins (European Environmental Policy Advisor)
  • Aidan Whitfield (Policy Adviser)
  • Holly Mynott
  • Cristina G. Sevilleja


BCE spends all its finances to support its goals. Board members do not receive any financial compensation, except travel expenses.


BCE's board members and advisors April 2024, Monegros Board Meeting: Constanti Stefanescu, Aidan Whitfield, Sue Collins, Martina Sasic, Simona Bonelli, Irma Wynhoff,  Evrim Karacetin, Dirk Maes, Nigel Bourn, David Roy, Lars Pettersson, Chris van Swaay, Mike Prentice, Martin Warren, Martin Wiemers, Anu Tiitsar, Holly Mynott, Sam Ellis, and Cristina Sevilleja.



About BCE